Having LVM on the disk causes system to automatically active such volumes. I installed used drive with Ubuntu on it to my Proxmox server. Using Proxmox’s UI you will not be able to wipe this drive, because volume group has been already auto-activated. You need to log into shell and then:
vgs # pick VG on your interest vgchange -a n vgname # pass your VG to deactivate it
After this, you are ready to wipe drive from the UI.